Love

I have decided to stick with love. Hate is too great a burden to bear – Martin Luther King, Jr.

Love possesses not nor will it be possessed, for love is sufficient unto love – Khalil Gibran

Free love? as if love is anything but free. Man has bought brains, but all the millions in the world have failed to buy love – Emma Goldman

Not long ago A and I were sitting at the table talking with my brother about different things. A was telling my brother about things she remembered from her time in kindergarten. At one point she was reminiscing about a boy she remembered. She said ‘He had long hair. I often looked at him’. Then she thought for little while and then said ‘I sometimes wonder if that is what it feels like to be in love’.

The way she put it was so poetic and beautiful and so full of wonder and curiosity about life and love at the same time. My 7 year old was actually wondering about love and it’s great mysteries. Remembering something she had experienced more than 2 years ago. At first I was surprised but then I had to revise. I remembered that I also, as a young child of perhaps 5 years old, had had the same experience with a boy in my class. I was always chasing this boy when we played tag, exactly because I had feelings of love towards him.

What surprised me wasn’t that A had had the experience of falling in love. Rather, it was how eloquently she put the experience into words. And how vividly she remembered the experience more than 2 years after.

I am not doubting for one moment that what enables A to describe her feelings so well and to ponder over what it feels like to fall in love is the fact that she has time to reflect on her experiences.She has time to process her thoughts and feelings after she experiences something. And this helps her understand what it is she experiences.

We all know that love takes time. It cannot be forced. It can grow in the tiniest of spaces and become greater than we can imagine. And when it does it doesn’t matter how many problems we are facing in our lives. Love will overcome all of them. But only if we give it time.

I cannot know how many times A has had the experience of falling in love so far. I can only know that her ability to process her feelings makes her all the more stronger and all the more capable of experiencing love ❤

Leave a Reply

