Goodbye and see you again

It’s a dangerous business,…, going out your door. You step onto the road, and if you don’t keep your feet, there’s no knowing where you might be swept off to – J.R.R. Tolkien

We are packing up our lives here in Denmark A and I, packing them up and leaving them behind. We are going on a journey. Initially, we know where we are going. But who knows where our feet will take us in the time to come?

Phew, packing for a whole year is not exactly easy or simple. I have been reading the good part of 20 different packing lists from just as many travel blogs and have gotten a little wiser and a lot more confused. It seems there are so many necessary travel gadgets to be bought before you can embark on any journey if I had to acquire all those things we wouldn’t be going anywhere at all. So we’ll make do with what we have. We are venturing out with very little in terms of savings and stuff. But I am pretty sure we have the essentials. If not we will know when we get there.

It is a strange thing knowing that we will be away for a long time and we will see and experince many different things and maybe we will change and surely we will learn while it is difficult to know what will happen to our surroundings back here.

We are leaving tomorrow and I am actually scared. I have read about all the things you shouldn’t read about before going to a new place. People have told me horror stories about travellers getting hurt one way or the other. All to prepare me for the evils I will face when abroad. I know it is something that can’t be avoided when you talk about your endeavors or your plans; people are prone to tell you about the worst case scenarios. I suppose it is all well meant. But people have also wished us well and sent us their love and said they will miss us. And we will miss them. It is very hard to say goodbye.

However, what I really need to do is listen to my myself. Stick with the thoughts I had that led to the decision to go travelling. There is a reason we are doing this. I have to calm my mind and embrace our adventure. We will be fine. We. Will. Be. Fine.

After all, it is what I say to myself most of the time anyway. We will be fine.

We have packed and unpacked so many times now I am not sure I can do anything else to prepare. My packing list looks approximately like this;

Clothes:

  • 5 pairs of underwear each
  • 2 pairs of socks each
  • 1 pair of long pants and 1 pair of shorts each
  • 1 dress each
  • 2 long sleeved shirts each and 1 t-shirt each
  • 1 swimsuit each
  • 1 fleece each
  • 1 top each
  • 1 all purpose jacket each

Shoes:

  • 1 pair of sneakers each
  • 1 pair of sandals each

Stuff:

  • Mosquito net
  • 1 travel towel
  • 1 sarong
  • Passports, tickets, money

Electronics:

  • PC
  • Ipad
  • Camera
  • 2 phones
  • Chargers & batteries
  • Ipod
  • E-reader
  • Earphones

Toiletries:

  • Glasses and contacts and solution
  • Moon cup
  • Band aids
  • Nail clipper
  • Small pair of scissors
  • Hair bands
  • Etc.

Meds:

  • Pain killers
  • Vitamin pills
  • Diarrhea pills
  • Malaria meds.

This is roughly what we have packed give or take a few things. I am sure we’ll figure out if we forgot something and indeed what we forgot when we get there.

We have said a lot of goodbyes. Family and friends we won’t see for a while have given us their blessings and we are all promising to stay safe. The world awaits. We are ready.

Leave a Reply

